The Beginning of Advent

Yesterday marked the beginning of Advent. This year Advent falls on November 29, December 6, December 13, and December 20. Advent is the beginning of the Christian liturgical year and begins the fourth Sunday before Christmas running through Christmas Eve, followed by the 12 days of Christmas (December 25 through January 5—marking the journey of the Magi to the baby Jesus) and Epiphany on January 6 (the celebration feast of the revelation of God the Son as a human being in Jesus Christ, the visit of the Magi, Jesus’ baptism, and the wedding at Cana).

Advent represents the coming of Christ in three ways:

  1. Commemorating his birth and walk as man and savior
  2. Celebrating his presence in us now through the Holy Spirit
  3. Preparing for his return as judge

The Western term “Advent” comes from the Latin word “adventus,” meaning “coming,” which comes from the Greek word “parousia,” meaning “second coming of Christ.” Common practices during this season include Advent calendars, daily devotionals, fasting, wreaths, candles, and reading from the Old Testament. The four candles are lit each Sunday of Advent, and the fifth is lit on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day. Advent is a time of prayer, commemoration, celebration, and preparation.

I thought you might like to join me for a daily scripture reading of the most meaningful verses for the Christmas season. Enjoy!


Are you new here? You might want to subscribe to my email updates by inputting your email address in the box on the right sidebar, or follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply